Scarlett Johansson receives American Cinematheque Award – Deadline

Tonight at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, Black Widow‘s Scarlett Johansson became the 35th recipient of the American Cinematheque Award.

Among those in attendance to pay tribute to the two-time Oscar nominee was Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige, who congratulated her on her ‘talent’, ‘vision’, intelligence and craftsmanship, both as an actress and as a producer, also teasing a “top secret Marvel Studios project” on which he reconnects with the actress, who he says has nothing to do with her Black Widow character, Natasha Romanoff. Feige noted that Johansson, who became the first Marvel actor to produce one of the studio’s films with Black Widow, will also participate in the next project as a producer.

“Scarlett has lent her talent and star power to the Marvel Cinematic Universe for over a decade. That she chose to play a key role in it for so many years I am extremely grateful to her,” said the MCU producer. “Working with [her] has truly been one of the most memorable and rewarding collaborations of my career.

Tonight Feige or any other speaker failed to note Johansson’s lawsuit against Disney in July, surrounding the release of Black Widow. She alleged in her lawsuit that Disney had broken its contract by releasing the film on Disney + at the same time it was hitting theaters. While The Walt Disney Co. initially released a statement saying there was “no basis” for Johansson’s case, sparking a very public war of words with the actress and her representatives, it was ultimately settled with it for over $ 40 million.

Johansson is in good company, when it comes to the American Cinematheque, joining a list of award winners dating back to 1986 which includes Spike Lee, Charlize Theron, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Ridley Scott, Reese Witherspoon, Matthew McConaughey, Jerry Bruckheimer, Ben Stiller, Robert Downey Jr., Matt Damon, Samuel L. Jackson, Julia Roberts, George Clooney, Al Pacino, Steve Martin, Nicole Kidman, Denzel Washington, Nicolas Cage, Bruce Willis, Jodie Foster, Arnold Schwarzenegger, John Travolta, Tom Cruise , Mel Gibson, Rob Reiner, Michael Douglas, Sean Connery, Martin Scorsese, Ron Howard, Steven Spielberg, Robin Williams, Bette Midler and Eddie Murphy. The actress will then appear in the animated sequel to Illumination, Sing 2.

The other prize of the evening was the first Power of Cinema award, celebrating businesses that tell stories as a means of promoting social change. That honor went to the attendee, with CEO David Linde accepting on behalf of the legendary production company.

The American Cinematheque Awards are an annual fundraiser for the nonprofit organization that continues its programming year round at the Aero Theater in Santa Monica, the Los Feliz 3 Theater in Los Feliz, and the Egyptian Theater in ‘Hollywood, which is slated for a grand reopening next year.


Previous 'Bad guy': top Chinese diplomat accuses Australia of 'wielding a sword' in nuclear submarine deal | China
Next Best movies on Criterion Channel in November 2021